Skip to content

Brain Crack

April 14, 2012

It’s exam time where I am, which ofcourse means that I’m spending a massive amount of time on the internet being useless. On one of my several jorneys across the vast, untamed wilderness I stumbled on Brain Crack.

What is brain crack? This guy (Ze Frank) explains it pretty well :

An idea that you think is really worth it, but you just haven’t gotten around to doing anything about it. I have a habit of sitting on an idea for so long, it eventually rots and then dies in my brain, thus becoming the most potent substrate for more brain crack to grow on and eventually die on.

Unfortunately, I’ve had an idea (which I’ve told people who then offered to pretend to not know me in public) which I don’t know what to do about. On the outset, it seems like an idea doomed to failure, but that’s what the internet is for. So this is how it works –

Car Horns – Noisy, horrible things. They tend to sound like this –

 

But then I had an idea. They are largely (exclusively? I don’t know, I haven’t done any significant research) only one note. It may not be a very nice sounding one, but that opens up possibilities. Different car manufacturers could decide to only include a specific note for the car’s horn, and each manufacturer would get a different note. So depending on which cars are on the road, you’d hear different chords and different sounds.

So here’s what two cars would sound like – 

And this is what three cars would sound like –

 

And in this one, there’s a subtle blues chord happening.

 

I think this sounds a lot nicer than arbitrary noises in a traffic jam. I just don’t have the faintest on how to actually pitch this idea to anyone who’d be vaguely interested.

A solid contribution to the world, indeed.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

